Hallelujah! Free App to Stop Procrastination

We’re human. The human brain is not designed to keep track of goals; it is designed to procrastinate.

When I have free time, I will picture myself to be productive all day, never wasting a second. But, 90% of the time, it was not the case. YouTube videos, Instagram, Facebook will eat away my WHOLE day. After I’m terribly guilty, I’ll tell myself: alright, I will do it tomorrow. And that never happened.

One of my goals is to create a ‘podcast business’ which consists of several podcast channels under the name of TT Group (Cool idea, huh?). I called my friend. And we blindly did everything without plan. How to produce a radio drama? Write script. Produce the instrumental version of the songs. And so on. Passion is great. That’s an important quality to all projects or goals. But without plans and means to keep track of them, the fuel of passion will all be consumed one day.

Thus, I searched ‘project management’ in App Store. Wrike popped up.

Screen Shot 2017-04-05 at 19.08.28

Our task list for the radio drama. We break down this big job (Fame X Friends radio drama) into smalls tasks (Script, Music, Production). Set deadlines for them. This list clarifies what we should achieve before we reach our final act, uploading the radio file to the Internet. It’s like a mental rehearsal. Letting us visualise the project.

One good trick is to let others assign tasks to you. It creates intimidating pressure for yourself. After all, we could disregard our jobs as we’re the ‘procrastination animal’.

Screen Shot 2017-04-05 at 19.19.37.png

Full description of a task (Script review). We know who handles the jobs. Both of us could contribute to each other’s tasks by editing the task description.

Screen Shot 2017-04-05 at 19.47.28.png

Comment section. A task is not clear? Ask your partners! Much better than WhatsApp. Comment in that task, and colleagues will instantly know what you want to make better of. No need to use tonnes of words and lots of time to explain what you’re talking about.

Screen Shot 2017-04-05 at 19.09.48

Task list layout. After finishing each task, we change the task status to ‘Complete’. Nice and clear of what we’ve achieved. And it is satisfying to see the project progressing.

Wrike is a wonderful app to manage your project, from small study plan to time-consuming final year project. For me, if I lucky get into a university, I will definitely keep using this app to avoid procrastination. And, I am sure I still haven’t fully unearthed this marvellous project management app. Tell me if you’ve better ideas. Share how it helps you!

Advisable functions/tips:

  • Breaking down tasks
  • Setting deadlines
  • Assigning jobs for partners
  • Commenting
  • Editing job descriptions
  • Changing task status
One thought on “Hallelujah! Free App to Stop Procrastination

Leave a Reply

